Making memories … or holiday over, now the work begins

Happy Birthday! The boy-child spent his day skateboarding in Bordeaux with new friends, one of whom took this photo. Can't think of a better birthday portrait. Thanks Thomas ...

Happy Birthday! The boy-child spent his day skateboarding in Bordeaux with new friends, one of whom took this fantastic photo. Can’t think of a better birthday portrait. Thank you Thomas.

Happiness isn’t something you experience; it’s something you remember.

— Oscar Levant

I’ve been on holiday for three and a half weeks with the Big T and our boy-child. We’ve stayed in six cities, taken eight flights (four of them long-haul); ridden trains, trams, buses, street and cable cars; and visited galleries, museums, castles, skateboarding spots, monuments, relatives, friends … well you get the picture.

In the process we’ve laughed, cried, yelled at each other and wondered (sometimes aloud) what the hell made us think spending that much time in each others company might be a good idea.

It was difficult; we are very different people. Our interests (and body-clocks) don’t particularly coincide, and some of us (well ok, the kid and me) aren’t particularly gracious in compromise.

But it had to be done. The boy-child is now 17; graduated from high school and on his “gap year.” He has plans and dreams and a vision of a future that looks outward towards his friends and his own adventures. It’s unlikely we will all holiday together again (at least not until the boy-child is much older and needs a set of live-in vacation childminders), so this time together was vital.

We’re home now and beginning to retell our holiday stories to friends and neighbours. In the process, the rough edges are being smoothed off and the quality of the memories is improving. It’s already starting to feel like a great holiday — something to hold close and cherish forever as our child hurtles towards adulthood.

My boys: garden of Musee des Beaux-Arts de Bordeaux. Photo: Su Leslie, 2015.

My boys: garden of Musee des Beaux-Arts de Bordeaux. Photo: Su Leslie, 2015.

To everyone who has started following this blog while I’ve been away; many thanks. I will get over to all of your blogs to say hello and thanks properly as soon as I can.

Cheers,

Su

22 thoughts on “Making memories … or holiday over, now the work begins

    • Thanks Amy. I’m glad we took the holiday too. Already the boy is hatching plans and organising his new post-school life, so it was lovely to have those few weeks with just the three of us. 🙂

  1. What a wonderful first pic. Su. Glad you had a good trip. Time seemed to fly by, so I am rather surprised that you are back already 🙂 Now comes the assimilation process, which is also fun, and probably quieter.

    • Thanks Rob. I’ve been watching my son and his friends shoot skating photos for a few years, and have been seconded into taking a few myself. I’m useless at it, but I’m learning a lot listening to the boys. Good luck with your shots; I think skaters are in general a pretty cool bunch and will be very welcoming. 🙂

  2. Welcome back dear Su!Glad to see you enjoyed your holidays and you’ve already started making memories … Looking forward to your new posts !Love & a warm welcoming hug 🙂 xxx

    • Thank you Doda. It’s kinda nice to be back — although I did have to agree when the Big T said this morning that he’d like to be on holiday again. Something along the lines of “I’d just like to see something new, even if it’s just one thing, even if it’s a bit crappy. Just something new.” I think we’ll have to get out more! Big hugs, Su.

  3. Great photos. A great way to celebrate the boy-child’s end of school time. And some great memories for him to cherish too. My daughter had a gap year and managed to save a lot but also learnt a lot of life skills like flatting and cooking.

  4. I relate to this post so much! I also have a skateboarder son who made plans with friends for his gap year and traveled abroad. Although he’s now an adult and has a family and adult responsibilities the thrill of skateboarding never leaves! : )

    • Thanks. It seems often that skaters get bad press, but my son and his friends are unfailingly polite, cheerful young men whose passion in infectious. I’m just hoping his knees don’t give out 🙂

  5. The trips we took with our sons are precious memories and worth EVERY. SINGLE. DOLLAR we spent!!
    I love the picture of your son skatboarding. Great action shot 🙂

    • I agree that money spent on spending time with our families is the best investment ever. I’m glad we have been able to take holidays and go to lots of cool places with the boy-child. 🙂

Leave a Reply

