Six Word Saturday: one exam left for the boy-child

The boy-child doing his "homework" travel diary in a Paris hotel room. Photo: Su Leslie, 2006

Studious: the boy-child writing in his “homework” travel diary in a Paris hotel room. Photo: Su Leslie, 2006

Seven exams down, one to go. The boy-child officially graduates from school on November 26th. The graduation invitation arrived the other day, with notification that he’s won an award. His world is changing and none of us knows what the future will bring.

12 thoughts on “Six Word Saturday: one exam left for the boy-child

    • Thank you Amy. He has worked so hard and has grown up so much. I’m excited about the new directions his life will take, and confident in his ability to cope with the challenges to come. Sometimes I wonder how I got so lucky with my child.

      • When my mother in law would be asked how she happened to raise two wonderful sons, she would say, “I laughed a lot. I cried a lot, And I was very lucky.”

        As I know, it does take some luck, but more importantly it takes a lot of love. Is he finishing high school or college/university?

  1. I think your mother in law has got it exactly right! He is finishing high school. He “skipped” a year and is quite young to be finishing (16 1/2), so he won’t be heading to university for at least another year. That will bring its own challenges, but at the time we allowed the skip we knew he was so bored at school that we had to allow him the chance to engage with learning again. On balance, I still think that was the right decision.

  2. Well done to your son for getting an award. My son has 2 exams left and has been accepted for EIT in Napier to do computer studies. It has been a hard year for him so I am proud of how he has done. πŸ˜€

  3. OMG Su; your son is in the same position as my daughter. A year ahead in school and just applied for university at 16! Yikes… this is me having a small heart attack! I am very grateful that she applied for universities in Ottawa and will still live at home until she has finished her bachelor’s. Initially she had wanted to go to Queen’s University in Belfast; and although we have many family there (selfish me) didn’t want her to move 3000 miles away. She is planning on moving to Ireland and doing her Master’s at Queen’s. If I’m lucky I’ll be retired by then; and maybe “momma” will have to move back to Ireland! πŸ˜€ Many congratulations on you sons achievements; as you say it’s an entire new world for them!

    • Wow! It’s wonderful that your daughter knows what she wants to do. My son is unsure what he’d like to study, and I’m not sure university would be the right place for him now. He has gone through school being one of the youngest, and it’s been particularly hard in the last couple of years. I’m glad he’s keen to work and travel for a while. I hope it will give him new perspectives and a new maturity. Will she begin university next autumn?

      • I think it’s best to go “exploring” when they are unsure what they’d like to study. My daughter has always known what she wanted to do; it was to “help people” from she was a toddler. She has now become more specific and has applied for three separate programs. She has applied for: Bachelor of Cognitive Science Honours (Major – Biol foundations Cognition), which is a four year program including a work placement; Science: Honours (Major – Neuroscience & Mental Health); and last but not least Social Sciences Honours (Major – Psychology)!! I don’t think I knew what all of that meant when I was sixteen. Like your son she’s always (and still is) the youngest of her friends and peer group; however, she’s always been comfortable with it. I think she is really 30 in a 16 year old body! πŸ™‚ Although I tried to get her to take a year off and travel (more specifically go to Ireland for a year, ‘cos she loves it there); she’s adamant that she will start in September 2015. She’ll have one year of university completed before she’s 18. As before, she will still be living at home, so some of the stresses of moving away to university won’t be an issue. I think it’s great that our kids know what they want to do; whether it’s going to university or not! πŸ™‚

  4. Double wow! All of these sound like amazing courses and it sounds like she has the focus and maturity to do well in any of them. I think part of the boy-child’s issue is that his interests lie in the arts – photography and film-making specificially, but he’s worried about being permanently broke as an adult “struggling film-maker.” We’ve tried to tell him that if you do what you love, success will come and that money isn’t everything, but it’s a message that’s difficult to convey in such a materialist world. Sounds like both our kids have passion and drive, and have great futures ahead of them, whatever they choose to do. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

