Wordless Wednesday: mothers and sons

My grandmother, Susan Elder with my father as a baby, around 1932.

My grandmother, Susan Elder with my father as a baby. Kirkcaldy, Fife, 1933?

Me with the boy-child, 1999. I think my gran was a lot more glamorous.

Me with the boy-child, Olney, Bucks, 1999.

I guess as photography has become more common, people dress up less “for the photo.” I’m certainly looking a lot less groomed and glamorous than my gran.

Wordless Wednesday is a blogging prompt from Geneabloggers.

 

20 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday: mothers and sons

    • Hi Raewyn. Yes, I have some of those too. We always looked really uncomfortable! I guess photography was quite expensive then and every shot counted so we were trying hard to “get it right”

        • 🙂 one of my grans lived to 98 (she died in 2006) and I think she would have quite enjoyed our new technologies. She had so many grand kids and great grand kids I think she was quite tech-savvy.

    • Thank you; I’m fascinated by how much things change, and yet stay the same. My grandmother and I are dressed very differently, but our smiles are the same. Motherhood is eternal. 🙂

    • Thank; my was born July 1932, Kirkcaldy, Fife. My father in law is right in the middle – December 1932. Did your dad do the “cool” mustache and floral shirt thing in the 60s? I love those photos!

  1. Su,Dear ! I can imagine how you treasure these very special photos ! Love the vintage feeling and the stories behind them ! The first one must have a very sentimental value to you ;
    You look gorgeous in the second one ! Is it manipulated ? Have you changed the colours? Love ~♥~♥~♥~ ,Doda 🙂

  2. Hi Doda. I had never seen this photo of my grandmother until my dad sent it to me a few days ago. It is so precious. Until now, I’ve only ever seen two pictures of her – neither with my dad, so this one is very much to be treasured. I stripped the colour out of the second shot (I was wearing and orange t-shirt and the boy-child’s dungarees were red), to focus on the similarities of composition. I was so pleased to find two shots that were so alike. The universailty of motherhood 🙂 Hope all is well in your world my friend. Hugs, Su.

    • He certainly does in this photo! I have another of him a few years ago looking soooo like one of my grandfathers! 🙂

Leave a Reply

