Wordless Wednesday: sadness, or just holding still for the photograph?

The Big T's great grandmother, Veronika Klukofsly. Photo undated. From Dove family archive.

The Big T’s great grandmother, Veronika Klukofsky (1880-1959). Photo undated. From Dove family archive.

Veronika’s story has been something of a mystery to us; but a recent discovery of photos and records has shed some light on her life and I must sit down soon to record what we know.

Wordless Wednesday is a blogging prompt from Geneabloggers.

 

31 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday: sadness, or just holding still for the photograph?

  1. I think she looks vaguely alarmed about being photographed! What’s the brooch design on her tie? Loving the hat – she must have had to work hard to secure it. Some hat pins I’ve seen are huge – wouldn’t want to miss, they can look quite dangerous!

  2. Hi; she does look a little alarmed, or at least uncomfortable. I’ve zoomed in on the photo and the brooch looks like a framed enamel? perhaps, hanging from the semi-circular framework above. I can’t see what the image in the centre is (not a human figure certainly). I love her hat; though I wonder if what’ alarming her is a fear that it will fall off? πŸ™‚

    • When you think about the time it took to develop the plate or film, it’s not surprising people looked so stiff. I just think she has sad eyes. I’ve seen other photos of the era where the eyes convey something quite different.

  3. Perhaps she is not used to wearing a stiff collar and tie. Although I agree with gp; being serious in a photo was how it was done back then. Just like we mustn’t smile anymore for our passport photos these days . 😦

    • It is a pretty impressive collar! And please don’t remind me about passport photos; I need to get new ones done. I always end up looking dreadful – the only consolation being that so do most people πŸ™‚

        • πŸ™‚ I think the old British passports are a masterpiece. The frontispiece had the most wonderful design and text that began ‘her most Britannia majesty requests and requires …’

        • Mmmmm….I think I have a passport from yesteryear that says something like that and it has a passport photo from when I was about 12; probably my best ever passport photo.

      • Ha. Mine too. I loved my old British passport. It was hardback, larger than the modern ones and looked so much more impressive.

  4. Su, I agree with gpcox’s comment. I don’t think I’ve come across a family photo of that era yet where anyone was smiling! Maybe they were supposed to look serious! 😦

  5. Su, I see what you see too – there’s almost an audible snap and crackle in her eyes. Whether it’s sadness or fear or hurt, I can’t tell. But her eyes don’t look happy.

    • Thanks. I wish I knew when the photo was taken. I know she married quite young to a much older man, and that after having four children, she left him and the children. She lived with another man for many years, until her husband died, when she married her partner. I wonder if it is fear in her eyes?

  6. It must have been so hard in those days if you suffered from any kind of emotional or mental health issue, because there was little or no help available. I had an Aunt who seemed so highly strung and had a similar look. But I knew her history and there was much hard ship and poverty. We are so lucky now because there are always people to talk to and who care how we feel.

    • That’s true Karen. Even quite recently there was so much that just wasn’t talked about. A friend’s mother had postnatal depression just after he was born in 1960, was admitted to a psychiatric hospital and pretty much never left. I also had postnatal depression, and while I don’t think I had much support, it was certainly better than the way that poor woman was treated. πŸ™‚

  7. I really like this picture; I think she would loose her hair, throw her hat in the air and laugh at times πŸ™‚

  8. Pingback: oh who can stop at only three inspirations a week :) | eagles float

      • aw it’s all ok no worries; when I get an award I give them, but I like to do it in a way that folks have no pressure with it to do anything; I like to give things without rules and strings πŸ™‚

  9. Thank you; I appreciate that. I’m finding at the moment I’ barely keeping up with my internal blogging schedule and I like to try and do justice to award / tagged blogging things. I feel that if someone nominates me, I should honour that by giving it time and energy to respond properly. Thanks again. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

