Wordless Wednesday: the end of the road, for now

OPR birth record of George Leslie. My paternal great great grandfather and the earliest verified Leslie ancestor. Record from Scotland's People.

OPR birth record of George Leslie. My paternal great great grandfather and the earliest verified Leslie ancestor I can find. Searching for Elizabeth Robertson and John Leslie has proved fruitless. Record from Scotland’s People.

George natural son to Elizabeth Roberston and John  Leslie was born 3rd and bapt. 31st Augsut 1822. Witnesses George Stewart and Alan Stewart.

Wordless Wednesday is a blogging prompt from Geneabloggers.

 

12 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday: the end of the road, for now

  1. 🙂 All is good here and the line forward is looking healthy. George Leslie is the last ancestor on this line that I can verify. I know his parents’ names, but can’t trace them through any other records, so I’ve hit a brick wall. It’s frustrating as I’d like to be able to present my dad with a family tree for both sides of his line and I’ve traced his mother’s family back to the 1600s.

    • Hi; it is possible they were immigrants. They weren’t married when George was born and I haven’t been able to find a subsequent marriage for them. Their names were very common to the place and time (Robertson, Leslie) and so there are multiple candidates in census, OPR and statutory records. I’ve done a bit of work following individual candidates through time, and in each case, concluded that the person I’ve tracked isn’t the “right one.” But, as new records become available hopefully there will be a breakthrough — and I’m quite enjoying the detective work. Thanks for your suggestion; it’s opened up some new possibilities for me. 🙂

    • Thank you Doda. New records are being made available all the time, so I am ever hopeful. Love and hugs 🙂

Leave a Reply

