Six word Saturday: the day we went to Rothesay ‘O

 

Class of '63. Children holidaying in Rothesay, Scotland, August 1963. I'm the toddler in white at the front. Photo: Ron Leslie, 1963.

Wanna be in my gang? Children holidaying in Rothesay, Scotland, August 1963. I’m the toddler in white at the front. Photo: Ron Leslie, 1963.

Since talking to my mum about the photo of my toddler self making a bid for freedom in Rothesay, I have been looking for the other photos she reminded me were taken on the same holiday. I found this one.

And in case you’re wondering about the title of the post – it’s from this song:

14 thoughts on “Six word Saturday: the day we went to Rothesay ‘O

    • It’s strange thinking back on those trousers. My mum was usually so concerned to make me look feminine (because I had short, fine hair and people often mistook me for a boy). Perhaps my dad dressed me that day!

    • 🙂 I’d never thought that the trousers might be pink. I can’t ever remember having pink clothes as a child!

      • I had a few pink dresses and lots of blue. It was too hot to wear trousers in Fiji but I did have some shorts. I think they were red. The first time I remember wearing trousers was on a trip to New Zealand. The trousers were brown.

      • I remember mostly wearing blue. I really wanted a red dress once, but my mum said I didn’t suit red. Needless to say, it’s the colour I wear most now. Did you spend your whole childhood in Fiji?

  1. What a sweet photo and song! I loved that you included the video, which really added to the whole experience. I had to smile at the band though…I have never seen so many beards!
    I thought that you might like to know that today, thanks to you, I took my first few tentative steps into my family history.
    I have not progressed far, but the little I have discovered has really moved me. It seems that My Great Grandparents had nine children, three of whom died. Seeing details of them and their age on one census, then seeing their absence on the next is both poignant and distressing. I know what a hard life my Great Grandmother had, because my Grandma told me that she took in washing to supplement the family income.
    Her name was Lydia and I have her wedding ring and have had it for many years. But it was not until this morning that she became real to me; more real than before.
    Thank you for shining a little light onto a path which may help to give me the sense of family which I have lost.

    • Oh Karen, thank you for your lovely comments. I’m so pleased that your first steps into your family’s history were “successful” – though I completely understand the mixed emotions of finding information which reveals tragedy and sadness. It’s wonderful that you have a connection with your great grandmother through her ring, and through your grandmother’s stories. These things are very precious. Will you blog about your journey, do you think? Anyway, congratulations on joining the whanau (Maori word, loosely means extended family. I use it a lot to describe my online community which sustains and supports me). 🙂

      • Thank you so much for welcoming me into the whanau. Before I had a blog I could never have believed how much being part of this community means to me. I am making connections, as you are, which enrich and support my world too.
        I may find a way to write about these discoveries eventually, but I am surprised by how with the discovery of a document that feelings have to find time to catch up.
        I extended my research today to the connection between the Wesleyan Reform Church and the coal mines (all my family worked in the pits). Men who attended these places of worship often were selected for positions of greater responsibility in the pit. I had always wondered how my Grandma had her own nice house with a lot of land when others lived in the coal board cottages.The chapel in the hamlet where she lived was the centre and focus of her whole world.
        Suddenly, a whole new vista has opened up to me and I feel quite overwhelmed and so grateful to be part of your network.
        Karen.

        • I totally understand. There have been a few finds in my research that took time to process and come to terms with – and I expect there will be many more to come.

          What part of the country did your great grandparents/ grandparents live in? A couple of branches of my family were miners in Fife. It seems they were spread between the Church of Scotland and the Free Church, but I doubt the kirk played quite the same role in work life in Fife. If the village where your ancestors lived was built or owned by the mine owners, and they also built or worshiped in the church, then the connections would be very strong. I know some industrialists built worker housing and places of worship. Good luck with your research.

Leave a Reply

