Six word Saturday: getting a telegram from the Queen

On the occasion of their golden wedding anniversary, my great grandparents got a telegram from the Queen. Many thanks to my cousin Lorraine Cruden for sharing this image.

On their 60th wedding anniversary, my great grandparents got a telegram from the Queen. Many thanks to my cousin Lorraine Cruden for sharing this image.

Not bad going for pregnant teenagers

My great grandparents, Alexander Cruden and Catherine Simpson Bisset Black got married on 27 March 1908 in the Manse, Dysart, Scotland. My grandmother was born about six weeks later. Their marriage lasted 62 years, until my great grandfather’s death in 1970 (on growing old together).

13 thoughts on “Six word Saturday: getting a telegram from the Queen

    • My in-laws celebrated 50 years together a few years ago; but I guess in general it’s probably not a very common thing these days. 🙂

  1. How lovely is that, as teenagers, if they knew ahead. they probably wouldn’t have believed it. I have an Aunt and Uncle who made 67 years married… till he passed a few short months before their 68th. She’s still going strong at 86.

    • 🙂 I remember them bickering all the time when I was little. Maybe that was part of their success. They could argue and get things out of the way without bitterness.

    • So am I. A cousin posted it on FaceBook – otherwise I’d never have known. There was an anniversary party, which lots of my relatives attended, but my parents had emigrated to NZ the previous year 😦

      • Yeah, but apparently families have to actually notify the Palace that they want a telegram before the secretarial staff do anything. Pity really; its’ more fun to imagine the Queen and Prince Philip reading though lists of BDMs while they have an evening cuppa and a couple of chocolate biscuits!

  2. How lovely. I so enjoy reading of the journey of you pulling all these little tangled and sometimes broken family threads back together. Are you good at sewing or darning too? I love darning, joining the warp and the weft.-Karen

    • Thank you! I’m pretty hopeless at sewing actually. I used to do a bit, but I’m impatient and a bit sloppy. Somehow I’m much more careful with information than with materials. I guess that’s probably training; I was self- taught as a dressmaker 😦

  3. Pingback: Ephemeral traces of lives past | Shaking the tree

Leave a Reply

