Wordless Wednesday: old family home

Ladybank Cottage, Windmill Road, Kirkcaldy. A former home of my Nicholson ancestors; Susan Forbes and Anne Nicholson. Photo: Su Leslie 2013

Ladybank Cottage, Windmill Road, Kirkcaldy. A former home of my Nicholson ancestors; Susan Forbes and Anne Nicholson. Photo: Su Leslie 2013

Death notice: Susan Forbes, April 1912. "American papers please copy." I wonder why? Notice from Fife Free Press.

Death notice: Susan Forbes, April 1912. “American papers please copy.” I wonder why? A family member living in America – but I don’t know who?Β  Notice from Fife Free Press.

8 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday: old family home

  1. I actually used to live about two streets away from this house when I was little, and I’ve been up and down Windmill Road many times – never realising it was connected with the family. Now that I’m discovering how many ancestors I had in that one little area, I could probably walk past about half the old houses and have a connection with them. πŸ™‚

      • Well, I remember people describing people and things as ancient relics and I always thought of old castles, ruins etc. I only discovered the other use of ‘relic’ meaning a widow, just recently. I don’t know when the death notices ceased to use the term ‘relic’ but it hardly seems flattering….a widow.. like a piece of old property left behind, sort of thing.

  2. What a lovely home! I think it reads ‘relict’. I used to think it was an unflattering word as well but it has started to grow on me since the definition of the word includes this, “a thing that has survived from an earlier period…one that has survived while others of its group have become extinct.” That word now means a long life to me.

    • Thanks. I was unfamiliar with the term relict. and the notion of “relic” does have slightly negative connotations, but I like the idea of survival. In my gg grandmother’s case, she buried at least three babies in the first years of their lives, outlived her husband and survived to raise a grandson whose mother had him out of wedlock. She’s one of my “heroine” ancestors. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

