Six word Saturday: mystery photo from a family album

Found in an album of photos from the Big T's aunt. I think the woman fifth from the right might be another aunt.

Found in an album of photos from the Big T’s aunt. I think the woman fifth from the right might be another aunt. That would make the photo no more than sixty years old and begs the question, why are the women in nineteenth century clothing? Fancy dress party? An historical re-inactment?

Very old photo? Or fancy dress?

17 thoughts on “Six word Saturday: mystery photo from a family album

    • Hi Sally, I only have an electronic copy of the image. I need to talk to the aunt who gave me the DVD with family photos, to see if she knows more about it. I do love a mystery!

  1. I would definitely go with fancy dress based upon the mixture of styles between the dresses as well as the hair styles. The 3rd, 4th and 5th women from the left very clearly have 20th century hair styles. And the second woman from the right is wearing a nightgown. πŸ™‚

  2. Thanks Deborah; I think you’re right. I’ll have to try and find out why they were all dressed up – and who they are? One looks like a younger version of an aunt, but I’m not sure.

    • Thanks Catherine. It’s generated so much interest, I’m going to have to find out who they are and why they are dressed up like this!

  3. My parents and their friends used to have theme parties (Roaring ’20s, etc.), and that was back in that general time frame of this photo – could that be the answer?

    • Thanks; it does look as it if was taken in the 40s, so perhaps it was a party. I don’t recognise the women from other family photos (except for a vague resemblance to one aunt), so as much as anything, I’m curious about why the photo was in the Big T’s family albums!

  4. Pingback: Wordless Wednesday: another costume mystery | Shaking the tree

Leave a Reply

