Wordless Wednesday: mystery man

An unknown ancestor?

An unknown ancestor?

This isn’t strictly speaking a wordless post, except that as I don’t know who the man in the photo is, I can have no words to share about him.

The photograph came to us from the Big T’s aunt who has been diligently scanning and cataloging family photos. This is one of a very few she was unable to identify.

A mystery then, but not an insoluable one. A puzzle to work on when I get back from the UK.

I was prompted to post this photo after reading Moore Genealogy‘s post Who are They? about the importance of labelling photos.ย  Thank you for that timely reminder.

6 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday: mystery man

  1. Well, whoever he may be Su… he certainly is a handsome young fellow ๐Ÿ™‚
    Yes, indeed re: labelling photos. I was reminded by a post recently that I really need to interpret the writing etc… in my mum’s precious Birthday Book. e.g. there is the only known writing of my Great Grandmother, the changes to mum’s handwriting over the years which helps date the time certain people came into her life… and the handwriting of others, like me ๐Ÿ™‚
    Good luck with the search for this mysterious man’s identify… I LOVE a mystery…

    • Thanks Catherine, so do I. The fact that we know where the photo was taken will help a lot. I wanted to get started on solving the puzzle straight away, but realised I have some more pressing things to do to get ready for my UK trip. Have an ever-growing list of places to visit and things to see. Slightly panicked, but on the bright side, I’ll have plenty of material for the blog.
      Will you post some of the material from the Birthday Book? That would be fascinating. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Aren’t they! Mind you, this one is a mystery to be solved and because I know where it was taken it’s potentially a mystery that can be solved. I’m so grateful for any photos – since I have very few from my family. I’m slightly envious of my partner, who was given 3 CDs of photos and hasn’t really had time to even look at them all. So excited about my trip. My mum says the weather is good again (she’s in Northampton), so I’m hopeful for a few good days. Don’t particularly relish traipsing around cemetaries in the rain; and I do want lots of photos (which I will diligently label!!!). Thanks Judy.

  2. Thanks Catherine. I’ve just read your post about your mother’s Birthday Book. It made me cry – but in a good way!!! It is such a treasure to have – I’m sure it will inspire more research and blogging in the future.

Leave a Reply

