Nine weeks, two days, seven hours … and yes, obviously I am counting

arctic convoy exhib

Planning for my UK trip is getting quite advanced.

As well as organising to spend time at the Kirkcaldy Library and Fife Archives, I’ve discovered this exhibition at the National War Museum in Edinburgh. My mum’s great uncle Stewart Cruden served on the Arctic Convoys and died aboard the HM Shera in the Barents Sea in March 1942. His ship – a converted whaler – capsized because of ice. There was an official enquiry into the sinking, a copy of which is held at the National Archives in Kew. I hope to get to there to read this report too.

2 thoughts on “Nine weeks, two days, seven hours … and yes, obviously I am counting

  1. Thanks. I’m hoping that old fashioned paper records will fill in some gaps for me – and I’m really hoping for a few days of good photography weather so I can get some pictures to accompany posts. Am beginning to feel that I’m recycling a bit!

Leave a Reply

