Daily Prompt: Earworm

I didn’t know the term “earworm” until I saw it this morning on the Daily Post, but I really like it.

This morning, as I read the challenge,  I happened to be playing  Help (Bosnia War Child), a 1995 album that’s become part of the soundtrack of my life. On different days, any of the songs could be an earworm, but today it was this one – because it is forever associated with one of the few things I felt I did right when Tom was a baby.

For the first two or three months of Tom’s life, he cried a lot – an awful lot actually. Having spent several years working at home, alone, and in total quiet, I didn’t cope well.

Catch 22. Most of the earliest photos we have of Tom show him asleep. Yet our memories of the time are of sleeplessness. I guess we only picked up the camera in the quiet moments!

Catch 22. Most of the earliest photos we have of Tom show him asleep. Yet our memories of the time are of sleeplessness. I guess we only picked up the camera in the quiet moments!

We discovered fairly early on that noise was quite effective at shutting him up. White noise (like the vaccuum cleaner) worked, but drove me mad. Music seemed to calm him and I could live with it.  Playing the Counting Crows album August and Everything After quite loudly in the middle of the night came to seem normal, but my real success story – the thing I did, and kept doing cos it worked – was singing Dream a Little Dream. I don’t have a particularly good voice, but Tom didn’t seem to care. If I rocked him and sang that song, he’d calm down – sometimes instantly. It even worked when we were driving, without the rocking. I don’t know why it worked, but it did, and at a time when I spent most of my days feeling totally crap, I held on to that one little thing.

I still sing Dream a Little Dream. Sometimes Tom sings with me.

Tom at about five months. Still cried, and didn't like sleeping much, but in the waking moments was so cute we were learning to forget the bad stuff.

Tom at about five months. He still cried, and didn’t like sleeping much, but in the waking moments he was so cute we were learning to forget the bad stuff.

One thought on “Daily Prompt: Earworm

  1. Pingback: A Word a Week Challenge: Sleep | Shaking the tree

Leave a Reply

