dazed and confused #2

medium_623991922

photo credit: melissambwilkins via photopin cc

Ok. First of all, apologies for the fluffy kitten. As far as I know, it’s not one of my ancestors, or even a member of my living family (although I do have two cats).  It’s a shameless ploy to get your attention so that I can ask an important question:

What family history software do you recommend?

It’s definitely time I bought something and I’m not sure what. I’ve done a bit of research on Legacy and Family Tree Maker, but would really appreciate some advice from those of you who have already been here.

Thank you.

PS: the kitten looks the way I feel at the moment – only cuter!

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/melissambwilkins/623991922/”>melissambwilkins</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

11 thoughts on “dazed and confused #2

  1. Hi Su,

    Not sure if you follow Glen’s Family History Blog but he is trying them all out and recommending some although he has had a few hold ups.

    I started off with Genes Reunited and found it a bit hard to follow. Other people think it’s great. Then I moved to Ancestry.com and found it good but very expensive and often I got wrong information because I didn’t check and re-check. My friend told me about Family Tree Maker and I got a copy of the 2008 one and had a bit of a look at it but didn’t do much.

    Last year I was in your position, I wanted to get something I wasn’t paying for every month and that was mine that I could copy for my children etc. I ended up buying the latest Family Tree Maker and I love it. You do get a free subscription to Ancestry.com for a month or so but you need to remember to cancel it or they will automatically bill you for a membership.

    What I like about the Family Tree Maker is that it is easy to use. I can put my photos and stories in the relevant places and it tells me what the relationship of each person is to the “home” person – me. I can also click to get a timeline of world events that goes alongside the timeline of the person I am researching and that is really interesting.

    I haven’t tried any others but I certainly recommend this one.

  2. Go to Family Search, the LDS site, and download their PAF5 program. You can set the initial settings so that the LDS information is not displayed. The beauty of it is that it is free and does everything you need, and if you need to export the data to use in another program, the exported database is compatible with other programs. FREE is a good thing. Good luck!

  3. Family Tree Maker. I think I would lose my mind if it wasn’t for FTM! I use it not only to keep track of my tree stuff, but also to track my research (something I used to do with pen and paper!) I use the 2011 edition, but the 2012 one looks pretty good as well.

Leave a Reply

