Tombstone Tuesday: my Ramsay great grandparents

My mother's paternal grandparents; David Ramsay and Mary Fisher.

My mother’s paternal grandparents; David Ramsay and Mary Fisher.

Against the wall in Dysart Cemetery, is the grave of my great grandparents David Ramsay and Mary Fisher, along with their daughter Jean. They are the only Ramsay relatives I could find in Dysart, and although the grave wasn’t overgrown, it doesn’t look as though it’s regularly tended.

I’ve been thinking a lot about the family, probably because I don’t know very much about them. My great grandparents died before I was born, and even my grandad died when I was eleven. I have no memories of meeting any of his siblings, though my mum assures me I did.

My grandfather David Ramsay (top right) with his parents and siblings.

My grandfather David Ramsay (top right) with his parents and siblings.

Looking at the photos of the Ramsays my mum gave me, they mostly looked happy – especially my great grandfather.

David Skinner Ramsay and Mary Fisher; their fiftieth wedding anniversary.

David Skinner Ramsay and Mary Fisher; their fiftieth wedding anniversary.

I really like the simplicity of my great grandparents’ headstone – and particularly the line “worthy of remembrance.”

I don’t think you could really say anything better about someone.

7 thoughts on “Tombstone Tuesday: my Ramsay great grandparents

    • Absolutely! I think it is probably the most beautiful epitaph I’ve seen. Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment; much appreciated.

    • That is why I research my family. I want to know where I came from, but more importantly, I feel my ancestors are “worthy of remembrance” and hope that, someday, one of my descendents thinks the same of me.

      • That’s a really good point about doing family history research. I have so many working-class ancestors who hardly appear in official records, and I want to make sure they are remembered by future generations in as much detail as I can provide.

Leave a Reply

